Five Links 4/5/19 Loleta Abi

sunset riders

Sunset, Riders, Silhouette, Nature
Sunset, Riders, Silhouette, Nature
sunset riders

Five Links 4/5/19

Loleta Abi

Writing:

1. https://megdowell.com/2019/03/31/you-dont-find-inspiration-it-finds-you/

2. https://ryanlanz.com/2019/03/31/five-things-my-mentors-have-taught-me-about-writing/ “Writing itself is a solo activity. Being a writer is not. We can teach ourselves how to write stories and read books and try to get better, but it’s working with other writers, and finding mentors to guide us, that make us great at what we do.”

3. https://acflory.wordpress.com/2019/04/01/active-verbs-their-use-and-their-limits/ “Please click the link above to read the entire article. It is literally the best discussion of active verbs I’ve ever read. More importantly, it’s probably the only discussion of their limits I’ve ever read as well. All too often, fads replace craft on social media. ‘Show-don’t-Tell’ I’m looking at you!”

4. http://booksbywomen.org/why-i-write-maureen-joyce-connoly/ “If you ask an author why they write, you will get as many responses as the number you ask. The question implies choice, but for me, I’m no longer certain that I’m an active participant as to whether I write or not.”

5. https://amdobritt.wordpress.com/2019/04/01/this-week-in-indie-publishing-58/ “Plagiarism, ‘book-stuffing’, clickfarms … the rotten side of self-publishing”

Research & Fun Bits:

1. https://somethingferal.com/2019/03/30/keys-to-the-house-of-don-iii/‘…Such a situation invites the approach of treating the various versions  as at least theoretically, the garbled remnants of an episodic whole. While such a method can never lead us to the definitive story but merely and at every turn to a series of closely parallel yet different approximations of the definitive story, some approximations will be seen to be better or nearer the definitive story than others…” I would enjoy an extra month. Less winter. For sure.

2. https://johnwhowell.com/2019/03/31/views-of-the-neighborhood-a-look-at-lakeway-park/ “The park in Lakeway is celebrating the Twenty-Fifth anniversary.  Since the Producer and I have never visited in our three weeks here, we thought it a good idea. We were surprised by the size and services offered. As a side note, the city council bearly passed the approval for the park when it was first proposed. Now it is a city treasure. I hope you like the tour.”

3. http://www.fantasybookcafe.com/2019/04/women-in-sff-month-somaiya-daud/ “I am delighted to welcome Somaiya Daud today! Her YA science fiction novel, Mirage, centers on a young woman who is torn from her family and home moon because of her remarkable similarity to a princess in need of a body double. It’s one of my new favorite books; it’s powerful, emotionally intense, and character driven with beautiful writing and realistically drawn relationships. Mirage also introduced me to a new favorite main protagonist: Amani, whose empathy, bravery, and wisdom come to life through a phenomenal narrative voice that perfectly reflects her poetic soul. I just love Mirage, and I am excited to continue this story in Court of Lions (scheduled for release in 2020).”

4. https://robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com/2019/04/02/the-process-of-writing-a-historical-book-by-robbie-cheadle/ “When I embarked on the journey of turning my mom’s early years into a book, I didn’t have a plan. She had told my siblings and me all sorts of tales about her early life while we were growing up and it seemed a simple thing to get her to jot down her memories and for me to turn them into a continuous story about her childhood. My mother grew up during WWII but that didn’t faze me at all. Even though I knew she was only seven years old when the war ended, it didn’t occur to me how much research would be required to get her story to hang together in a believable and factually accurate way.”

5. https://annetterochelleaben.wordpress.com/2019/04/03/attitude-of-gratitude-april-3-2019/

Some Things More Series:

1. https://legendsofwindemere.com/2019/03/30/exhausted-and-battered-but-i-made-it-to-the-weekend/ “I’m writing this Friday night since I’m hoping to focus on writing in the morning.  My son has a 3 hour thing, which means I can possibly get a section done.  We’ll see how it all goes because weekends rarely go as planned.  There’s always something that comes up to cause a distraction or requires that it be a higher priority.”

2. https://smorgasbordinvitation.wordpress.com/2019/04/03/smorgasbord-health-column-cook-from-scratch-with-sally-cronin-and-carol-taylor-to-prevent-nutritional-deficiencies-vitamin-b3-niacin/ “In this series we look at cooking and your diet from a different perspective. Usually we emphasize the health benefits of food and how they can be incorporated into your diet. But, what happens if you do NOT include them in your diet.”

3. https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/2019/04/03/failure-today-is-my-fault/ “I stayed up late and watched the Diamondbacks game vs the Padres. I don’t expect a lot to cheer about this year, but baseball is funny. It’s one of those games that takes a long time, and it seems like not much happens. When it does, it can be spectacular. Last night was one of those nights.”

4.

5.

Teaser Fiction & Poetry:

1. http://teagansbooks.com/2019/04/03/hidebound-hump-day-cornelis-drebbel-37/ “Welcome back to Hidebound Hump Day, my chuckaboos!  Our heroes are still in the purple world. Will they return home this time?  The steampunk submarine is coming into port.  Let’s not waste any time.”

2.

3.

4.

5.

Book Reviews, Cover Reveals, & Author Interviews:

1. https://robbiesinspiration.wordpress.com/2019/03/30/bookreview-something-wicker-this-way-comes-by-colin-garrow/ “Based on the infamous Blog of the same name, this indecorous take on the Holmes and Watson stories pitch the detecting duo into Whitechapel, the Western Isles and the Village of the Damned. Adult humour throughout.

THE WATSON LETTERS is book #1 in this Victorian comedy adventure series.
If you love historical mysteries, buy something else instead, but if you’re into fart-gags and innuendo this’ll be right up your Victorian street.”

2. https://dsm-publications.com/2019/03/30/sallys-cafe-and-bookstore-new-on-book-on-the-shelves-survival-of-the-fittest-book-1-of-the-crossroads-trilogy-by-jacqui-murray/ “Five tribes. One leader. A treacherous journey across three continents in search of a new home. Written in the spirit of Jean Auel, Survival of the Fittest is an unforgettable saga of hardship and determination, conflict and passion.”

3. https://dsm-publications.com/2019/04/01/the-librarian-of-auschwitz-by-antonio-iturbe-eburypublishing-tr4cyf3nt0n/ “For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Choice: this is the story of the smallest library in the world – and the most dangerous.

‘It wasn’t an extensive library. In fact, it consisted of eight books and some of them were in poor condition. But they were books. In this incredibly dark place, they were a reminder of less sombre times, when words rang out more loudly than machine guns…’

4. https://owlnpussycatbookpromo.blog/2019/04/01/coming-back-broken-new-beginnings-book-3-by-trish-edmisten-militaryromance-newadultcollegeromance/ “At the age of eighteen, Slade couldn’t wait to join the Army and get away from the boredom of small town living. Two years later, his life is irrevocably changed when an IED blast leaves him paralyzed from the waist down.”

5. https://stacitroilo.wordpress.com/2019/04/02/bookreview-silent-mayhem/ “Some things in life defy comprehension, but that doesn’t make them any less real. Or deadly.

When a familiar crow drops a cryptic scroll at Shawnee Daniels’ feet, she’s compelled to open it, even though everything in her power warns her not to. Mr. Mayhem—the most prolific serial killer the North Shore has ever known—claims her life is in danger. He “claims” he wants to help her, but just last year he threatened to murder everyone she loves.”

8 thoughts on “Five Links 4/5/19 Loleta Abi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: